Nevada’s governor has signed a package of statewide reforms onto the books for the Silver State — which includes decriminalizing the possession of up to 1 ounce of marijuana, opening a new type of “tobacco lounge” for people to legally consume medical cannabis, and creating a new office to monitor driving under the influence of drugs Like other states that have legalized cannabis, Nevada will amend its criminal code to exclude marijuana from the state’s definition of “driving under the influence.”
Last month, we reported that Nevada had finally decided to ditch a controversial per se law, which made it a crime for drivers to be “impaired” as a result of marijuana use. This month, Gov. Brian Sandoval pushed through a bill that would require the installation of smoking lounges at dispensaries, as well as requiring that the state’s medical marijuana programs should provide for “immediate access” to cannabis to address shortages caused by sales taxes.
The seventh. In June, Nevada’s Democratic governor, Steve Sisolak, signed a series of new marijuana reform laws, some of which won’t take effect until October. Among other things, the state will end DUI charges for marijuana use per se and allow consumer sites for cannabis users. The Governor signed Assembly Bill 341 on January 1, 2021, which provides rules for on-site cannabis consumption rooms for persons 21 years of age and older. Regulators have yet to determine what specific types of cannabis products can be consumed in these facilities.
National trend in consumption breakdown
Alaska and Colorado have already passed laws explicitly allowing social cannabis sites, and New York’s fledgling adult-use cannabis law regulates such sites as well. Similar legislation is currently pending in California. Late last week, the governor signed Bill 400 into law. It amends the state’s traffic laws so that driving with traces of THC or its metabolites is no longer necessarily a violation. The new law will enter into force on 1 January 2011. October 2021 in effect. Current state traffic laws prohibit driving a vehicle with low levels of THC or 11-hydroxy-THC metabolites in the blood or urine, even if there are no other signs of psychomotor impairment. The revised measure abolishes the application of these restrictions in certain circumstances. NORML has consistently opposed limits on THC content per se, believing that such limits are not evidence-based and could lead to prosecution of people who consumed cannabis days ago but are no longer under the influence. The governor also signed Assembly Bill 158 on Friday, which revises penalties for minors who possess small amounts of cannabis. Existing sentences of up to six months in jail and a $1,000 fine are converted to community service. The measure also requires courts to automatically close cases of these crimes once the offender has served his or her sentence. The new law will enter into force on 1 January 2011. July 2021 in effect. For more information, please contact Carly Wolfe, NORML State Policy Officer, or visit the Nevada NORML website.